What does it mean to be a “gamer” nowadays?

My primary and favorite hobby is to play video-games. However, I don’t buy the new releases because I don’t have that much money to put into a hobby. And I do not invest my time playing MMO’s because I don’t have the time to do it. So, can I still be “considered” a gamer?!

Since I was young, I always played games and it has always been my favorite hobby. Unfortunately, mostly because of my tight schedule juggling a lot of responsibilities (darn, sometimes it sucks to be a grown up, am I right?)  …  things, I simply don’t have the time to dedicated myself into a game or I simply don’t have the money to buy all the new releases and play them all. Heck, I’m still playing Skyrim (and having a blast at it because this game is pretty awesome…).

But, just because I don’t spend so many hours of my time playing games doesn’t mean I don’t know what’s happening on the gaming industry. This year was the first time I got to watch some E3 panels through the stream instead of just reading the Best Of E3 article on some blog. Not only that, but I got to watch the #Evo2k finals, with some awesome matches and I even wrote about it on a previous post.

I feel that I’m consuming more information and content about the gaming industry, by experiencing when possible and if not by passing through articles on different sources be it Joystiq, Gamespot, Game Informer, Giant Bomb, simply getting to know new sites such as Video Game Writers, Venture Beat Games, discovering the wonders of some sub-Reddits dedicated to games, and stumbling upon the blogs of some awesome companies. And other type of medias, eg. podcasts, video-reviews, vlogs and web-shows offer a great point of entry of gaming news and content unto my routine in a way to expand how I get my daily fix, by the length and format that I want.

Maybe, to be a gamer nowadays means you play a little bit less and consume more gaming related content, right? 

PS: The Featured Image of this post is at Trend Hunter on article featuring a Retro Gamer Lightning for a child’s room. Le. Epic. Win.

Deixe um comentário

